golfusers logo

Does The Putter Count in The 14 Clubs – Helpful Way

There are a lot of golfers out there who think that the putter doesn’t count as one of the 14 clubs that they’re allowed to carry. After all, it’s not like you’re hitting the ball very far with it. But the truth is, the putter does count as one of your 14 clubs.

I have defined the short answer as no, the putter does not count as one of the 14 clubs in a golfer’s bag. But that’s not to say that it isn’t an important part of the game. Far from it!

Does The Putter Count in the 14 Clubs – Know Easily

The putter is arguably the most important golf club in a golfer’s bag. As it’s the one club that is used most often during a round of golf. Think about it – when was the last time you hit your driver or fairway wood on every hole? Chances are, you only use those clubs a handful of times during a round.

But your putter? You use it nearly every single time you step on the green. That’s why having a good putting stroke is so important – it can make or break your scorecard.

So while the putter may not technically count as one of the 14 clubs in your bag. Don’t underestimate its importance. It just might be the key to lower scores and more enjoyment on the course!

Does a Putter Count as a Club?

In the game of golf, a putter is considered to be a club. This is because it is used to hit the ball with the driver – just like all the other clubs in a golfer’s bag. The main difference between a putter and other clubs is that it is designed specifically for making strokes on the green.

Putters come in many different shapes and sizes. But they all serve the same purpose – to help golfers make those important shots when they need them most. So, when it comes down to it, yes – a putter does count as a club!

What is the 14-Club Rule?

The 14-club rule is a regulation in the sport of golf that limits the number of clubs. As a player can carry up to 14. The rule is designed to limit the amount of equipment that a player can use in order to make the game more challenging and fairer. 

It is also intended to speed up play by preventing players from spending too much time looking for their ball. As well as taking too many practice swings.

The rule was first introduced in 1968 by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, which is one of golf’s governing bodies. It has been adopted by most major tournaments and leagues. Although there are some exceptions. For example, the PGA Tour allows players to carry up to 15 clubs if they have an injured or ill club member who needs assistance during competition.

There are a few ways that players can get around the 14-club rule. One is by using multi-purpose clubs, such as a hybrid club which can be used for both long shots and approach shots. Another way is by carrying two putters, which is allowed under the rules as long as only one putter is used at a time.

Ultimately, the 14-club rule adds an extra layer of strategy and skill to the game of golf. Players must carefully select which clubs they will bring with them in each round. Based on both their own strengths and weaknesses as well as those of the course they are playing on that day.

How Many Clubs in a Golf Bag Does Putter Count?

The number of clubs in a golf bag is typically between 10 and 14. As well with the most common being 12. This includes the putter, which is often counted as a separate club even though it’s technically not. So, if you’re wondering how many clubs you should have in your bag, the answer is anywhere from 10 to 14.

But if you’re just starting out, it’s probably best to stick to the lower end of that range.

What 14 Clubs Do Pros Carry?

A lot of golfers think that the pros carry 14 clubs and that’s it. However, the reality is that most professional golfers carry around a dozen. So, clubs are in their bag, with the average being closer to 10-11 clubs. The reason for this is that they don’t need all 14 clubs and they want to save space and weight in their bag.

Plus, carrying fewer clubs also forces them to be more selective with their shots. A club selection can ultimately lead to better scoring. So, what 14 clubs do most pros actually carry? 

Here’s a look at the typical contents of a pro golfer’s bag:


Most pros will have a driver with a loft between 8-10 degrees. Some may also have a second driver with a higher loft (11-13 degrees) for extra distance off the tee. 

 3 Wood: 

A 3 wood is typically used by pros as a “go-to” club off the tee when they don’t need to hit the ball with their driver. It’s also useful for long approach shots into greens. 

5 Wood:

 A 5-wood is usually only carried by players who don’t hit their 3 kinds of wood very well. It can be helpful off the tee on shorter holes or used as an approach club on longer par 4s and par 5s.


Pros will typically carry anywhere from 2-9 iron depending on their preference and how far they hit each one. Most players will have at least one gap wedge (52-54 degrees) in addition to their regular irons set.

Penalty for More Than 14 Clubs

The USGA’s (United States Golf Association) Rule of Golf 4-4 states that “in stroke play, the player incurs a penalty of two strokes for each hole at which any breach of the Rules occurs.” In match play, the player loses the hole.” So, if you use more than 14 clubs during a round, you will incur a two-stroke penalty for each hole at which you do so. 

There are some exceptions to this rule

First, if you carry 15 or more clubs but only use 14 during the round. You will not be penalized. Second, if your caddie carries your extra clubs for you and they are not within reach while you are playing a shot, again no penalty will be incurred.

Finally, if you accidentally drop a club while playing a shot and it lands out of bounds or in water (hazards). As long as you don’t go back and retrieve it or replace it with another club from your bag, there is no penalty.

So there you have it – those are the rules regarding carrying more than 14 clubs during a round of golf. Remember them next time you tee it up!

Final Say

As many golfers know, the rule of thumb is that you are allowed to carry 14 clubs in your bag during a game. But what about the putter? Does it count as one of those 14 clubs?

The answer is yes; the putter does count as one of the 14 clubs you are allowed to carry. This has been confirmed by the USGA (United States Golf Association). So, when you are packing your bag for your next round, make sure to include your putter!

2 thoughts on “Does The Putter Count in The 14 Clubs – Helpful Way”

Leave a Comment